Amazing Grace

My chains are broke I have been set free, you were tethered there on Calvary
I owed a debt I could not pay, you paid the debt. You died for me, bound by your blood. The worlds sin you wore

Fastened life so that I could know, your love for me is much greater than any I could ever know

Had to drink from that bitter cup. Your hands and feet struck with nails bind. Crown of thorns pushed into you head, whips and lashings. Leashed for me, streamed blood

Secured the salvation of all who believe with the blood soaked cross you bore. Until your head could no longer hang your last words said “it is finished”

Your ties were cut. You lifeless blood drained body placed in the tomb. Mary grieved her son. Tears were shed, you were dead. All this upon a cross for the lost

This is not the end of the story. Proof of life, and stamp of love. You rose again, restrained no more. Mercy reigns forever, love walks. Walks on water, and all the earth. The good news spreads, “He is Risen”

Tomb was rolled away, and your gospel shared without fetter. Disciples of you in sandals trekked eager to speak of amazing grace, and endless love, 

Amazing Grace

Word Prompt: Tether

Chris Tomlin; Amazing Grace

Author: Lisa O'Day, Cries from an unkempt garden

I write to tell my story of how I overcame self affliction, and great despair in this life. For I write to share the death to self that took place. That I may Glorify God in all I do. May my writings be a refelction of freedom, for I am no longer in captivity of self. May they be warm, and inviting. For I write because God has given me words that drip from my mouth to be seen.

29 thoughts on “Amazing Grace”

      1. Day 3 of our painting the house also. I do taping, my hubby does all the painting. I let him climb up and down. I peel off the tapes afterward. We’ll have a different look of the house by tomorrow or Saturday!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My hubby has to do all the outside stuff I can’t do. We have house trim, porch, and roof. So I do most of the indoor. I can not reach the borders for 15 foot ceiling. He is burnt out, and in turn got very sick. Came home early from work yesterday coughing bad. He never misses work. We have so much to do, and are on a time crunch. I am now going to begin painting the kitchen. Praying neither of us get to weary.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. It was seriously all I could think about when I saw the word prompt was tether. I just thought of Jesus tethered to the cross for us. Thank you so much, just been writing from my heart and it pours out. Saturday will the first birthday in 4 years I will be spending with my 19 year old son. God is so good. You better believe I will be writing about it, and taking tons of pics. I am so freaking excited!! God is just so gracious!!! He first told me could not get it off. I was like what the heck (no)….instant mom of a younger kid mode I called his work. I was like listen Eli has not shared his birthday with family is 4 years. We made sure to have this day off, and have big plans. Then I was like what did I just do lol. My mom said people do that all the time for surprise get-aways or party. Usually before the schedule of posted. Needless to say they heard my pleas. Omgeeee. He did ask for the future not to call his work. He gets me though….he not 15 anymore. 19 eek.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was a great post! I’m not good at writing poems like that, but you did well! Omg girl! How exciting! I can’t wait to hear all about it, I’m sure God has big plans for this day! Haha! Hey, whatever works!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Amen-Amein Sister in Christ Jesus-Yeshua Lisa!! God Bless you Sister in Christ Jesus-Yeshua Lisa and Your Family members and Friends!!

    Amazing Grace is through Jesus-Yeshua Christ Forevermore, as HE LOVED ๐Ÿ’• EVERYONE FIRST!!

    God Bless all my Sisters and Brothers in Christ Jesus-Yeshua and Your Families and Friends!!

    Love ๐Ÿ’• Always and Shalom ( Peace ), YSIC \o/

    Kristi Ann

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

