Setting Sail, and taking flight for in you Lord I delight 

You took my very broken wings, and gave me flight. I soar swiftly, yet gently across the skies. Day and night

You took my broken heart, and were the ultimate surgeon. Purging the old, and replacing it with new. Your hands were that of Uncondtional Love. No greater love known to man

You took my eyes that saw no hope, and gave me a new forecast. Taking off my mask, and giving me perfect vision. Opened my ears so I might hear, and allowed for my life purpose 

You took me when I was lost, and were my compass. Drawing me out my map. Nudging me along the path. Giving me ample supplies to me survive, you heard my cries

When I was shipwrecked at sea you Lord came for me, and salvaged the wreckage. Crafted with the best of carpeterners hands giving me a new boat. Set me back out to sea declaring victory in your name. I will never be the same 

So I have set sail, and have also taken flight. For in you Lord I delight. With your mighty hands you drug me to safety, and I need not fear anymore. You steer me in flight, and at sea. Amazed in awe of the beauty I see in me. Potential to be anything you want me to be 

Alas I have set sail for greater things this life has in thee, you are captain of my ship. From my mouth drips words I am eager to share. For your love, grace, and compassion for nothing compares  

Isaiah 40:31

but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

Photo credit me; Daytona Beach Florida. As the sun was going down over the sea, I sat with my feet dipped in the tide. Taking pride that I am His. The Sea so vast, and serene. Not a single tone coming from the waters deep. Just sweet serenity. For He walks on water, for us His feet are gentle like a deer. We need not fear. The sea, and all its blue, hues of proof He is real. 

 Word Prompt: Sail

Author: Lisa O'Day, Cries from an unkempt garden

I write to tell my story of how I overcame self affliction, and great despair in this life. For I write to share the death to self that took place. That I may Glorify God in all I do. May my writings be a refelction of freedom, for I am no longer in captivity of self. May they be warm, and inviting. For I write because God has given me words that drip from my mouth to be seen.

13 thoughts on “Setting Sail, and taking flight for in you Lord I delight ”

    1. Oh thank you!! With all I have been through I would be a fool not to be head over heels in love with God. I too was married for 21 years before my marriage now. For years I held onto so tight with all my might. Grew up in his dad’s church. Married at 20. My kids are 19 this Sat, and 21 in Sept. They are part of that tragic statistic. They are so wounded too. When I found out my exhusband fell from our marriage vows I forgave. Yet it became sadly a lifestyle. His heart no longer sought after Jesus. Not like he used to. I asked for us to seek counsel. Distraught, 3,200 miles away from our home here in Washington where we lived in Florida. I just fell to pieces. He was no longer the same man. I started drinking instead of standing strong in God. I idolized my ex and I can see this now. Our family was a mess. My kids are so bruised by all of this. My ex is still not the same some 4 years later. Honestly my daughter thinks he is mentally ill. He is lost!! I believe he can’t forgive himself. I always thought we would be friends. He dislikes me so much it hurts. At 40 I had to reinvent myself. Everything I was was him. He would not seek counsel, and sees no wrong in his doing, at least that he will admit aloud. He lives a dark life. I pray for him all the time. He has done some horrible things to my kids and me, but God was gracious to me so I pray for him. My son does not get it. He just arrived here in Jan. Got in a car and left (Florida) the authority of his dad never to talk again. It is sad. My daughter is there. Trapped somewhat. She leased him an apt in her name. His car was just repossessed and he can’t pay his rent. So it falls on her. He can’t keep a job to save his life. She only reaches out every now and again. I miss her so much too. So my story is a lot, but God said use what I gave you and write. Share your love for me, and how I saved you from near death. Also the death of my marriage was so painful, but the man that has taken residence in him is not the man I married. Praise God my son is here. I get to spend his birthday with him. We are very close. This world is dark, and God has to be at the helm or we are doomed!! This day 4 years ago I was in jail. I was arrested for a disorderly intox. I found out my ex did it again, and this was the chain of events that was my end and then beginning. So I write. So there a mini manuscript….my book lol. Blessings in Him!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow that’s a lot. With God all things are possible and He gave you a beautiful new life. I know that there will be many who are touche by your story!

        What part of Florida? I was born and raised in Orlando Florida then lived in Ormond beach for years.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Greater Orlando. My ex went to Full Sail Unversity then taught there. Oviedo mostly. Orlando a couple times. We moved back and forth cross country 7 times. It sucked!! My husband now is incredible. I waited over 20 years to be called something other than Lisa. He calls me honey, babe, hon..we are doing it right. I know do know how to do marriage if that makes sense. I know his needs, and we communicate well.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Both mine and Troy’s first marriages were hell but our marriage to each other has been a bit of heaven on earth…not perfect but closest to it we’d ever find. I’m baby doll and Junebug and he tells the world ” I love that girl”. It’s wonderful to love and be loved in return.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. And to recognized on birthdays, anniversaries. We had a lot wrong with our marriage. Nothing to walk out on until later. My kids thought we were weird. We never held hands. PK’s are some of the more damaged kids. He is damaged. I longed for that. I would get jealous of my friends who had all that. He also barely could provide for us. We we are striving to live. And barely at that.

        Like

Leave a Reply

