“Ooooh, aaaah,” it got the husband’s stamp of approval…

“The prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: ‘ooooh, aaaah,’. Use it as a phrase, or break it apart. And since I love bonus points, bonus points if you somehow manage to start and end with all or part. That’s about it, Enjoy!” 

“Ooooh, aaaah,” that was my thought as I dropped the marshmellows into the large pot. Watching them melt as they meshed into the butter. Gooey treats in the making. The stomach would be all the better for partaking.

I send my husband off with a pretty hearty lunch every day for work. Always looking for some sort of treat that will please him. Make his lunch a little special, and add a little pinch of love.  

Rice Cripsy treats that will for sure bring him a smile. Smack, Crackle, Pop!  I was so excited as I am not much of a baker. I do cook meals, but it is a chore. Never was a learned skill. I try not to be a bore though. Creative in my ventures if I can.

They were coming together quite nicely, stirring occasionally as the Rice Crispies were now poured in. So simple, yet oh so good! Almost ready for the husband stamp of approval. 

Pushing them square into my 9 by 13 inch pan. Calling the man in for a taste test. Joking about about how I slaved all day in the heat of the kitchen.  

His eyes were large, and stomach even larger. So I ask as he was taking a bite, “what do you think?” “Not bad for a white girl with no kitchen etiquette”..(laughing at my own humor). 

All he could say with his smile so big, and eyes bright with thanks that I am his wife was   “ooooh, aaaah,” . I knew I had done good!

SOCS Prompt  “ooooh, aaaah,” 

Author: Lisa O'Day, Cries from an unkempt garden

I write to tell my story of how I overcame self affliction, and great despair in this life. For I write to share the death to self that took place. That I may Glorify God in all I do. May my writings be a refelction of freedom, for I am no longer in captivity of self. May they be warm, and inviting. For I write because God has given me words that drip from my mouth to be seen.

22 thoughts on ““Ooooh, aaaah,” it got the husband’s stamp of approval…”

  1. My husband loves these too … he calls them Crispie Critters … don’t ask me why … he gives his own special name for everything … after 32 years I now speak his OWN particular language. I think I’ll make him some this week. : )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My husband is retired for 6 months. When I packed his lunch day in and day out, I like to pack a little surprise for him also. When it was about his lunch time, I tried to imagine how it looked on his face!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is so fun. Yeah he said his boss who is in his 30’s always asks him what did she give you today. He is not married. I pack them pretty hearty enough to hold him over lunch, and 2 breaks. Plus sense he works in Produce in a grocery store it saves us money, and his belly not eating in the deli. 😱😂. Lol. I enjoy doing those kind of things for him.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I packed all veggies, then a small sandwich for breaks, some nuts for snacks even when working and yogurt and healthy dessert. I packed 13 to 15 small items. I even took pictures and sent to my daughter!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

