Red, White, Blue, Neatly folded triangler flag in your stead; Daddy

I remember standing graveside at 9 years. Wishing this was not a story to be told. Long stringy hair, and a dress. They did the soldierers funeral military honors. 

Three men standing broad in shoulder, in perfect order. A three-volley salute, rifles rang in your honor. It still seemed like a bad dream, you were so young at 30. Yet there we were standing at your grave. Loving Husband, father, and son engraved upon the stone. Your urn entered into the earth, with tear filled faces, and stained hearts. Shock, awe, and anger too. What did you do? 

You were gone, and in your stead they handed mommy the neatly folded triangler flag. Red, White, and Blue. You served your country, but we still lost. You fought for your country, but not for us. Depression the silent reaper of your soul, took you. Stole you away in the doom of the night. For a soldier I shall give you credit. I take debit, for you left us too young. Too early you gave up, gave into ghouls that paraded in your heart. I guess it still makes me sad some 30 plus years later. I hate it when Satan wins. 

Depression the silent killer of one too many soul. For you I will never know, and you too will not know me. 

Blessed to have had you for 9 years, wish your heart could have been stirred. Shaken from the demons lurk.  

Red, White, Blue. Neatly folded triangler flag in your stead. You were my daddy. Looking down at your urn, turning with soft steps grieving head down. Daddy, Leaving…you left 

Published by

Lisa Ralph, Cries from an unkempt garden

I write to tell my story of how I overcame self affliction, and great despair in this life. For I write to share the death to self that took place. That I may Glorify God in all I do. May my writings be a refelction of freedom, for I am no longer in captivity of self. May they be warm, and inviting. For I write because God has given me words that drip from my mouth to be seen.

18 thoughts on “Red, White, Blue, Neatly folded triangler flag in your stead; Daddy”

  1. Your reflections moved me. Bless you … our country is indebted to your father … no consolation to you … but we do. He would be so proud of his sweet baby girl. Tender Hugs, Jan

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Couldn’t have come across a more fitting post today. People know this a day as one to appreciate our veterans and their sacrifices, but most of us can’t really understand the true loss that many families have had to endure as a result. Thank-you for sharing these memories and reflections with us, I found it very relevant.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m in tears. PTSD is so very real and people push it aside. I feel like it’s still a taboo topic and it shouldn’t be! So sorry for the loss of your father. Thank you for sharing in such a beautiful way ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Some people have no idea of the power those demons can have. My father fought them for many years, constantly calling on help from God, staying close to Jesus. May both of our fathers rest easy now in God’s loving care. Big hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautifully written and so moving….though So not fair to that 9 year old girl, nor to the teenager then woman she became. I’m grateful you have the comfort of God…but it’s still not fair. So much of life isn’t, I suppose…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No life is not always what we hope it be, but what I have came to realize that God has a will and purpose for everything under heaven. Some of the greatest men/woman of the Bible had horrible trials, and tribulations. They still looked up and gave God all the glory. I just hope and pray I can be that woman. That story is only one of so many heart wrenching stories I have endured. So I write. It is healing for me. Thank you for reading, and commenting. I love WordPress ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

