Another Gumby stretch…painless I hope!

Photo Credit Lisa Ralph; Medical Lake Wa. Medical Lake, waterfront. You can see the green thicket on each side. The trees shady branches hang over head. Yet still a clear path for feet to follow. A place marker for our way about. A lot like life when we set out to knock on uncharted territory. God gives us the pathway. He gives us the stepping stones, and the door waits open. The path is clear, and ready for faiths steps. 

Joshua 1:9 

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go. 

So I had shared that I was much like Gumby these days (just not green nor as cute). Being stretched in many directions. Having to feel my way through many a unlit room in a walk of faith to the door to see which if any would open. 


So as I am still dealing with my Epilepsy, we are just barely breaking even financially. Me in and of myself, I would have already made way for a job. God was not allowing for that though. I was a seizure away from another cuncusion, coma, or worse yet death. All out of my control. So it would not have been in my best interest to take this into my own hands. My husband with his gentle demeanor always encouraging saying “it will come hon”. 

These past couple weeks a brink away from losing it, stuck amoungst these walls. Missing my life as I knew it. Day in, and day out the same ol’ thing. BORING! Pulling my own hair from my head, in complete frustration of my plight. Fell down the stairs in another seized state. These were my days. Epilepsy sucks! It is hard to remain all happy, when a helmet should be worn in your own home for your safety. Lame!  

So as I shared I stepped out in faith for a job interview that I had actually accepted the job for months back when my Epilepsy decided to take over my life. So I had to politely decline. This job interview took place yesterday. It is the perfect hours, with excellent pay.   

A lot of prayer went into all of this. As there remains so many uncertainties. The what ifs? So there we left it in God’s hands. If it is meant to be grant it to me, if not shut the door. 

Upon arriving it was a simple refresher cousre. Tell us again as it has been months about yourself. So if we were to offer you this job what causes your seizures? I mentioned the lights, fluorescent. I said I wear baseball caps for the bill helps with the lights. They were like no problem as long as its not a Seahawks hat or Mariners. Me always myself, said “hey now you just knocked out like half my hat collection.”  They all laughed. It was very painless. I left feeling very confident, and genuinely excited upon leaving.   

Still a lot prayer, as we wanted our hand void of this completely. Ironic yes that the job just has posted hours before our talk of stepping out again and feeling the waters. The position had just become open for the taking. 

So with my phone in hand, and on WordPress this morning per my usual they called to extend me the offer. Baseball caps ✅, comfy attire✅, income again✅, getting out of the house✅whoop!! Mon-Fri 10-3, oh Lord you are so good to me!!

For our provisions have always been met, we have lacked for nothing. I stepped out, and you swung the door wide open. So now I am an Apartment Manager of a complex literally a 10 minute walk from my house if that. I begin next Thursday. So with this said, sometimes we have to take these blind walks of faith. Knowing God always has our best. He knows what will be, and is already. 

So my prayer now, is that I don’t miss a beat. I adhere to Him daily. Listen to my body, as it is still not at 100%. You know seizures have triggers. Stress, lack of sleep, and anxieties. It may help feeling like I have a purpose. I will be contributing to our dreams, and learning a new skill set. That alone could help in my healing. This I know “He who began a good work in you, (me) will be faithful to complete it.” Philippians 1:5. 

Done! I accepted, and life will be in for yet another change. He leads I follow. 

Blessing All, Lisa ✌out!! 

Published by

Lisa Ralph, Cries from an unkempt garden

I write to tell my story of how I overcame self affliction, and great despair in this life. For I write to share the death to self that took place. That I may Glorify God in all I do. May my writings be a refelction of freedom, for I am no longer in captivity of self. May they be warm, and inviting. For I write because God has given me words that drip from my mouth to be seen.

21 thoughts on “Another Gumby stretch…painless I hope!”

    1. I just bought two last week 😜. The ones they jokingly said I can’t wear. The other owner is a Hawks fan. So he said I can wear them. I am super excited as this Epilepsy has changed my life so much! Time to gain back some of my life. Maybe bike riding will soon be in my future again. The little things. 👍. Thank you Roda! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I can’t say with unknowing I am not nervous. I have had so many seizures, with head trauma I lost count. It is time though. This may be what reduces my stress level. As I am not meant to be at home all the time. My kids are grown. I am so extroverted, and I believe it will be a good fit. Could not be closer home. We shall see on day at a time.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m so excited for your good news. Wow, 10 minutes walk from home, can’t be any closer than that. They are so accommodating. that really made you feel good and feel confident about the job. You can be like doing a fashion show going to work, wearing a different hat each day. That’s a fun feeling. God is so good! We can’t thank Him enough!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

