Notorious to not be notorious bringing lights (lime, or dim)…

We wanted to be legendary in our own right. You for your magic hands on bass guitar, would make anybody rivet. I mean come on you gave up playing with the Miles Kennedy (Alter Bridge, mad guitarist touring with Slash) for your family. You were a master of sound design too. Made a name for yourself in Audio Post Production. Feature film, and video games were your rise to fame. You were an artist in your own right. In Russia your bands name graffitied on the underground transportation. You were infinitely famous.   

We wanted to be legendary in our own right, me wanting to be an author taking root in my writers nook over looking the vast sea (a pipe dream). Also my claim to fame was being your wife. In Spokane we were known everywhere we went. Spent countless nights in our youth following the 90’s Seattle Underground. Everywhere we went we made our mark on this town. Not to mention because of your dad we could not go where no one did not know our name. Infinitely famous a desperation one hit wonder. 

We are legends now, and our names beam with flashing lights. One year spent here (Spokane) after being in Orlando. We made our bent. Like vagabonds sleeping from house to house. We were poor sad souls, like a dog acting out from lack of attention from its owner in total dismay. We had quite the reputation in a large town, with a small town mentality. 

We are legends now. Reached the status quo. Wrecking havoc on every door bell rang in our stay. We barely made it a week at each place, leaving taking cover of our face. Paparazzi if you will following us about snapping pictures of all sorts. I remember my mom calling me saying she heard we got asked to leave another house, and saw the pictures of our demolitions being passed around at church. Of course this being your dad’s church, even better yet. One picture was beer, wine, and liquor bottles that we left behind all lined up on the front lawn for proof of our demoralized selves. Photogenic yet! Giant black lawn bags filled with the remnants of a family no longer seen as famous. We defamed ourselves. 

Our new found glory and fame. Demoralizing our name. Notorious for our stint of short lived stays, and being kicked out. From house to house like a whirlwind tornado, leaving only sadness of what had come of us to linger. We over stayed our welcome. Spokane was done with us. 

Notorious here. For broken bridges, taking, and never giving, and I am told the headlines read, “Manipulation at is best”. Let’s make that our family crest. 

Notorious here.You left for hiding, back to Orlando. You took us with you, and we all hid out. No one knew what we were all about. No one knew our name. No one cared just the same. We could live like trash, and fill our bags, take our own pictures if we wish. I could no longer live that way, notorious is not my dish. Bonnie and Clyde were notarious too, see that ended in their own death. Famous yes! Psh!

Notorious here. I am back in face of my demons. Ran for too long undercover, I am ready to rebuild upon the rubble (our rubble). Stones thrown. Troubles come and go, and an enemy that was once can be your new best friend. If the willingness is seen to make a mend. It is amazing what 3 little, but oh so powerful of words can do “I am sorry.” Often times no more that needs to be said. I was in want for a new claim. No longer attached to your name. I am new in my making. I wish to be known for kind, gentle spirtered, self controlled, gracious, goofy, loving, and a woman after God’s own heart. Fame and fortune are of no concern. Just a smile from a once defiled friend will do. I was once afraid to land here again, but this is home. I found myself in this little town longing to run into those people we hurt, to tell them how very sorry I am. I just want to live a quite simple life with the man who made me his wife now. He loves me so, and is not notorious for anything that I know of. We want to settle down here, buy 20 acres. Find our love is what keeps us. Notorious what is that. I want to take pride in my new name, cherish it. Lime lights only in God’s eyes. Notarious for not being Notarious.  No one has the daily gossip. No soap box here. Just simple in seek of simple.  

Legend has it that the most famed often come to their own demise, no surprise. They are held captive in a reflection of loftiness. Held high like a prize. Why would we have every wished for this? Your guess is as good as mine.  

Word Prompt: Notorious

Published by

Lisa Ralph, Cries from an unkempt garden

I write to tell my story of how I overcame self affliction, and great despair in this life. For I write to share the death to self that took place. That I may Glorify God in all I do. May my writings be a refelction of freedom, for I am no longer in captivity of self. May they be warm, and inviting. For I write because God has given me words that drip from my mouth to be seen.

Leave a Reply

