You nursed me back to health at 40, reminiscent of my newborn years…Thank you!!

You took me in your home when my feet fell out from beneath me. You were my phone call saying, “mom I need to come home”. 

You hurt for me, with me. Cried for me, with me

Endured sleepless night beyond my childhood years 

I was given comfort, understanding, and a place to lay my head 

You were that constant whisper in my ear, “Lisa you were a great mom”!  Many a tear soaked pillow

You set your own life aside until I  my feet were free from topple

Veiled me with a winter wardrobe, saying my Florida sun clothes would not do

How does one say thank you for the welcome I received 

 At 40 you had to nurse me back to health holding me accountable every step of the way

Cheered me on through college papers, taking over as I was slightly Microsoft Word retarded

My vocabulary vastly improved playing a Scrabble guru such as you, wonder where I get my competitive nature? I will beat you yet, take you down to common ground (haha)

We are more alike as the years pass, I look in the mirror and see you staring back at me (scary so I was not adopted). I love that story though, more dramatic! Fine I will let it go since your face I do show (you are so very pretty) my mom 

You never gave taking me in a second thought and for my safety you always sought 

Mom your love for me masks unconditional as close as it comes so to sum it up, Thank you for loving me, I know it has been hard at times. Me, flipping on a dime…

Thank you for being here to coach and watch my growth

Mostly for always bringing it back to God and how life is empty without him 

You can feel a little bit more free now with me having a husband to care for me as I do, long time coming (Praise God mommy) 

Happy Mother’s Day Mommy! Praying these years you live now are the most fulfilling yet

For you deserve a double scoop cone or better yet a rainbow with a pot of gold 

For with you here this is where I call home 

Daily Post Word Prompt: Hospitality

Psalm 139:13

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb.

Published by

Lisa Ralph, Cries from an unkempt garden

I write to tell my story of how I overcame self affliction, and great despair in this life. For I write to share the death to self that took place. That I may Glorify God in all I do. May my writings be a refelction of freedom, for I am no longer in captivity of self. May they be warm, and inviting. For I write because God has given me words that drip from my mouth to be seen.

2 thoughts on “You nursed me back to health at 40, reminiscent of my newborn years…Thank you!!”

Leave a Reply

