A quick glimpse of little ol’ you! My fav. yet :)

Falling to pieces with the glimpse of your face a silhouette is all you are, but yet you have the beauty of a falling star

I can’t see you

I can’t touch you 

I can’t hear your sweet voice

I can’t get my brain to shut down from this deep saddness. You were my first born. You make fun of your new born picture. For you were a little peculiar sight. So darn cute! You were slightly beaten up down to the path of light. A bruised nose, and concave head gave you just that alien edge. You were not in want for joining this world. A vacuum was next in seek for your head, but finally a cry from little ol’ you. 

Tiny hands that gripped my thumb. You made your daddy and I cry. You had a hard time feeding. You cried a lot. I cried with you. We were both young. You young to life, and me to motherhood. I was a nervous wreck. To be a mother I had to do everything right. Under spectacles eyes from all different places. Tentacles trying to show me the ropes. You’re not holding her head right, you’re not relaxed enough. Hmm, I wonder why?!? Gasp!!

For I would not be a mother if I did not reminisce the day of your birth. You were so stubborn to come out, and that followed you well. Strong willed, yet goofy Brie. 

You loved playing dress up, which suited you well. As you might as well have been a make up artist or special effects make up artist too. That time you made Eli look just like Edward Cullen, he won first place. Well deserved too. Halloween was your favorite holiday. For that was the time your hands so gifted let all their talents show. It came so easy for you to make someone’s face into its own mask. 

You are so intelligent, and I see the writer in you as well. Just little burps of magic in the words on your Twitter. You probably think I never want to be like my mother. 

Well we are more alike than we are different. 16, and you were working your first customer service job. Bubbling over with conversations. That is all me, your dad is quiet as a mouse. Mumbling, an ears strain to hear what he is saying. You like sports I see? He never played a sport a day in his life, let alone watched them. So again we are much more alike than you know. 

If I was there I would take you to Miami (as I saw you wish to go) to watch the Seahawks wipe them off the field. For we (you do to) bleed blue and green. Hawks fan girls we are. I meant to buy you a Hawks hoodie. Born right here, and schooled too. We are mother and daughter nothing can change that. 

I can’t see you 

I can’t touch you 

I can’t see your sweet voice 

Falling to pieces with the glimpse of your face a silhouette is all you are, but yet you have the beauty of a falling star

I took flight in this cloud over head, they alloted for just one person. So when you look up in amazement at the days Skyship. Know it is me passing over head to catch just a quick glimpse of little ol’ you….Imagination does much for the soul. All in a write I can let go, and a smile is put back on my face. Now who is the alien me or you? I love you sweet Brie, we have shared so many laughs. So look up, I am flying over in snatch of a quick glimpse of little ol’ you! 

Author: Lisa O'Day, Cries from an unkempt garden

I write to tell my story of how I overcame self affliction, and great despair in this life. For I write to share the death to self that took place. That I may Glorify God in all I do. May my writings be a refelction of freedom, for I am no longer in captivity of self. May they be warm, and inviting. For I write because God has given me words that drip from my mouth to be seen.

2 thoughts on “A quick glimpse of little ol’ you! My fav. yet :)”

Leave a Reply

