I bet I have none a tattoo like you! 

What is in a name? Juliet questions that a name does not define a person or thing. She reasons that a rose smells the same no matter what it is called. I beg to differ. I am sure we all have heard the saying that once you get your significant others name tattooed or share the same one your relationship is doomed? 

In my thirties I went through a kind of rebellious stage. I wanted to make a statement. I went from preppy, to dark. I wore a smoky eye (day and night), had funky short hair, piercings, and tattoos. I always seem to take things to the extreme maybe it is my dramatic personality. I don’t know if that is good or bad, maybe both if I can learn to bridal it. 

I don’t believe in luck (good or bad), or superstitions. I have been known to open an umbrella indoors, and guess what no rain. It is just my nature, I believe in God. I believe my life is his, and he is in control. 

That being said, we are all made with free will. With free will can come poor choices, and then we reap the consequences. I have made plenty of poor choices in my day.

 At thirty five I got my first tattoo. I was so thrilled. In route to I-drive in Orlando (tourist central), with my whole family, as it was my Mother’s Day gift. I already had my nose pierced so this was obviously next in step. I sat looking through the portfolios of the artists, and picked the dude for the job. His body was a canvas, a colorful piece of artwork. My kids sat right outside the room as I underwent the makings of his artist hands. It did not hurt at all. Two hundred and fifty dollars later, I left with a beautiful vibrant tribal cross. Its placement was perfect. It sat right under my neck bone, and between my shoulder blades. Not too big in size, it was Turquoise and black. It is still bold in color to this day. I am proud to show it off. With the right shirt, it can be seen all summer long. I am not one to dress scantily, but a nice racer back tank top makes it twinkle. It has received many a compliment. 

Now let’s fast forward, two years later. I was wanting another tattoo. I was not creative in this sort of thought for design. In much haste, I readied myself for my second. I did think it odd I drank before this one, I was not nearly as excited either. It was almost depressing, but I still went with my then husband in tow. We picked a font, and I sat (inebriated), as what began the first letter of my husbands name. Yep, this really happened. What was to be “Britton“, down my right arm. I always liked his name. He was a musician, and had quite the IMDB when he did work. Hence the word did. He made his mark from time to time in Audio Post Production for Feature films/Video games. I was his biggest fan. He could no wrong in my eyes. I mean come on we had been married sixteen years, and I took my vows very seriously. This time sixty dollars later, and a very heavy hand; I stood a little wobbly to look. Which that did not go off well, Britt was not happy with me at all. I knew there would be discussions of that later. When I looked in the mirror the image did not read his name it read ugly! It was just plain ugly. The B looked like a G. So what was supposed to be Britton looked like Gritton in dark red/black lettering down my arm. 

Now fast forward to today. I still am branded with his name. It feels like I am still his, like a cow that was branded by his owner. I wear daily the name of a man I no longer know. My identity was once in being Britt’s wife. I am sure my husband Aaron loves seeing another man’s name etched on his wife for all to see. We have looked into the removal, but what was sixty dollars be put on is five hundred to have removed. Ouch, now that hurts! 

So as summer is fast approaching, and the layering of winter will be to hot. It will be seen again (ugh). I just want to give you a few examples of what I am to be ready for. “So you must really like the country”? As to not let them in on their moronic statement, I nod and say, “yep fascinated by Great Britain”. I also get what does Gritton mean? Which ironically does have meaning in the urban dictionary. I hate it, so much regret in his name!!

So what is in a name, everything!! I am now branded, marked, etched, and stamped, and with a name I have not in want of. I bet I have none a tattoo like you.  

So wait is it Britton or Gritton

Word Prompt: None


Published by

Lisa Ralph, Cries from an unkempt garden

I write to tell my story of how I overcame self affliction, and great despair in this life. For I write to share the death to self that took place. That I may Glorify God in all I do. May my writings be a refelction of freedom, for I am no longer in captivity of self. May they be warm, and inviting. For I write because God has given me words that drip from my mouth to be seen.

8 thoughts on “I bet I have none a tattoo like you! ”

  1. This sounds so similar to me, although I was lucky enough not to get a tattoo of a guys name. Instead I had a really dodgy Chinese symbol that probably read egg fried noodles lol. A few years later I got it covered up with a new tattoo of pretty angel wings and the bible verse Galatians 2:20 and I love it.
    Thanks for sharing and making me giggle. 😂💞

    Like

    1. Ha. Lol. I seriously tell people who ask which is just about daily in the summer, it says I am an idiot. Although my son did point out to me at the time I did want it. He is right. I thought very highly of his dad. I do not speak ill words of him often. He was a huge part of my past. We are not together anymore for biblical reason. I would have never stepped out, I even tried for counseling. When the other only sees fault in you there is not much you can do. There was no change of lifestyle in sight, and it was killing me. So one day as I am by the grace of God Happily remarried I will have it removed. I have talked cover up, but the dude was so heavy handed it would be a hard go. Gritton in the urban dictionary mean getting down to business. Most think it says, Gritton. I could just go with that. It is all together a poor quality tattoo. Learned moments in life!! Grace my favorite word.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so pleased for you that you have found the love of your life. God is so amazing how He works His plan out. Really commend you for not going down the route that so many do of holding bitterness and resentment towards your ex. It must have been a tough time but its so good that you can let it all go for the sake of your son & also yourself. God wants us to be completely free from bondage. Hayley 😊💞

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Hey Red Letters when Jesus speaks in the Bible. Love it. My ex husband and I owned Red Letter Radio Productions. It was taking pastors through out the country’s sermans and edititng them for radio slots. We would do the beggining song, voice overs, and make it to their liking then send it off to the radio station.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s so awesome! What a cool job, sounds like such fun!
        Red Letters is the name of our worship band and we just loved the name instantly. Jesus’ words, highlighted in red, saying everything that we believe in. Hayley 😊

        Liked by 1 person

    1. It is quite a story. Even to this day, the was part is hard. I am very happily remarried it was for me the biggest failing in my life, and was not supposed to be. We just married so young. We were kids. I was only 20, and so naive to the world. Stuck in Spokane with a covering of sorts on us. Then we moved to Florida for my ex to go to Full Sail Unversity when we were 28. Our world changed. I don’t think things were ever the same. I never even after our divorce with kind of person I am imagined never talking to a man who was a part of my life for so long. Yet we are anything but friends. I have tried, he is just not the same man anymore. The man I knew died somewhere in the whole heart wrenching chaos, divorce, and such. As far as cover ups everyone says it could be done, but a very hard job because the dude was so heavy handed. At this point one day I think I will just pay for removal. It has been 4 years now. I wear this name for 4 years. My husband now says it does not phase him. My mom hates it, lol! It is an ugly as I had said tattoo. Poor work for sure. So we will see. It will be 70 something today, and it will be shown. Yay! 😳😬🌞

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Goodness. Well I hope you know you’re a very strong women!! It may have turned into something horrendous but I hope you’re still thankful for some of the best memories of your life! I bet Florida is nice. Let us know about the tattoo removal process when it happens! 70 degree is nothing compared to 102 degrees today 😜 have a good day lovely lady!

        Like

Leave a Reply

