“Tall Tale” or is it…

There was a young strikingly beautiful peasant girl her skin like a porcelain doll. Some would giggle as she walked through the small villiage of Cheney claiming her to have been given over to the darkness of vampires, her skin so drab in color. Her only entertainment was found in those vampire tales. So she walked the village in cloak jumping around corners to startle the little kids from playing. Snickering, in delight of their fright, and high pitched squeals. They could not scamper from her fast enough. “Vampire”, she thought, “oh the tall tales”. 

She was poor, her clothes tattered beyond a stitch. Yet she had not want for only love. For her heart was as soft as butter, the butter she churned all night. She, and mama baked all day for the boys after turning in a long days work. 

Her mind often wondering in the monotony, “oh love why hath love not come thy way”? “Shall I ever be stolen by a a love that is more vast than thy sky with all the stars on the most clear night”? Oh the sweet nectar of a whisper in thine ear, I love thee is all she longed to hear. Her soul parched from the lack there of.

The village was all she knew. Mama always said there was nothing she needed outside the village walls. A great plight indeed. If mama could only wish her God speed, and send her out for some sort of treasure beyond the village gates. 

Her curiosity had her plot her flee to the village gate. She would leave in the thick of the night, to return home upon the sun light. She churned butter as if they had run out, so her absense would not be noted. There was a sincere passion for what waited her beyond the gates, for she doth make haste.  

As the day drew dim, she grabbed her satchel and made way. With every step closer, beginning to skip with step. Her heart was beating fast, she was stealthy none the less as to not be faced with protest in her desire for what lied ahead. 

The gates creek from the rusty hinges were enough to wake the rooster before dawn. She opened it just enough to wiggle her way through. Just beyond the village gate the earth felt different beneath her feet. Soft, subtle with so much to be desired. She began to tire, so she found a tree. She snuggled her skirt tightly around her, and took comfort in the billows of grass. Alas she was free, she had no idea what was to be. 

She was awakened by the sound of hooves. With just enough of morning to make out the magnificent sight, the prance of a white steed. Its rider so gallant, as he drew nearer. He was so handsome, and his smile was warm. She stood up so fast with elation she almost fell from her misstep. She unraveled her skirt, and frantically straightend her hair. Oh my she thought, “I am so undone”.  “He is perfect”! She had seen no human so dignified, and proper as he. Whom was he? What was he? 

Closer he drew upon her stance under the tree. She was now so in awe, and know her mouth dropped open. As he was now right there in all his majesty, his words “good day my fair lady”, what finds such beauty as thee out here on such a crisp morning as this”? “I do not believe I had the pleasure of us ever meeting”. He extended his hand to hers, with a gaze that raptured her heart. “I my fair maiden am prince A-Ron”, and whom do I have the pleasure of likes in you”? “I-I” stumbling over her words. She believed with every breath were the butterflies that begot her anxious stomach. Ragaining her composure she stated in a meek voice, I am Lisia”. “I come from the village yonder, I came in seek for what I have never seen”. 

Laughter from both as their eyes met. Transfixed in their wonder. His horse was now at rest, and he leaned down closer to her. He reached out, to grab her hand. He proclaimed “as I have come upon the fairest lady in all the land I would be a fool to not grab her to ride with me”. “For I am in want of the most beautiful peasant girl, take my hand we shall ride off into never-never land”. “You will be made my wife, Princess Lisia”.  How could she deny such a request, for she longed for love. Alas they rode as her new castle dwelling drew near. Her love was now bequeathed to a Prince. 

She never was seen in her village again, and they did indeed live Happily Ever After. From peasant to princess in that of a glance. 

Oh a tall tale maybe. Though yesterday marked one year to the day I met my Aaron. Noble, loyal, sincere, kind, and treats me like a princess. He is my prince that did come galloping up, in steal of my heart. It did start with a glance, and “God saying it starts and stops with him”. We were in the deli sharing a laugh amongst co-workers. “I was like okay I barely know this dude”. Also though I was never one to ignore the words of my God. So I began to investagete a little. Not a lot, I knew what I was to do. It began with a glance, exchange of phone numbers(me the pursuant), and a date at Fish Lake. Honestly the rest is history. We were married 5 1/2 months later. For when you know it is God, and know it right, it is right. As cliche as it may sound, I found my happily ever after/forever always! Aaron & Lisa sitting in a tree K-I-S-S-I-N-G. 

And we are living Happily ever after…

Husband and Wife, Best Friends, and the love of our lives…

In Adidas Tri-Colored Track suits, Samba’s, and each a Seahawk Hat we went and took the plunge that resonated our hearts. “I do”!!

Matthew 19:6 

What therefore God has joined together let no man seperate.

Post Word Prompt:Yarn

Author: Lisa O'Day, Cries from an unkempt garden

I write to tell my story of how I overcame self affliction, and great despair in this life. For I write to share the death to self that took place. That I may Glorify God in all I do. May my writings be a refelction of freedom, for I am no longer in captivity of self. May they be warm, and inviting. For I write because God has given me words that drip from my mouth to be seen.

4 thoughts on ““Tall Tale” or is it…”

  1. Oh I just love a good old romance story. ๐Ÿ’– So lovely of you to share! Congrats to the both of you, may there be many more happy years to come!
    Hayley ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Like

Leave a Reply

