Blanket White…

Word Prompt:Blanket

Holy Snow, as I peered through the windows condenstaion the streets grew white by the minute. Old man winter was anything but kind this year. There were no longer markings on the roads, or curbs in sight. Yards once brownish green filled up fast, and cars began to be wrapped in white. For all night long the sky unleashed what was now our winter. 

Don’t get me wrong it was an elegant sight. The reflection of the flakes, shown in the street light. All different shapes, and sizes for all to delight. This was no delicate drifting just passing through, we were plummeted hard. The heavens showed no mercy they dumped with great force. A blanket maybe, more like a heavy quilted throw. For winter was making a triumphant show. 

Winter gloves, coats, beenies, and boots alike went vacant from all the department stores shelves, it did not matter the price. For it was darn cold out there. The grocery stores could barely replenish its Hot Cocoa, and Spiced Apple Ciders, for we are creature of comfort. 

Just as soon as we saw reprieve another dumping fell yet again on our already snowglobed city. We no longer had need for our daily exercise as shoveling became a necessity to even enter our homes. The berms we piled stood taller than I stand at 5’2″ tall. We no longer had a place to toss the snow. 

We lived in a ghost town, school closures(snow days), stores closed.The city was camoflouged as pails from the sky kept splashing us in white. White, white, white…with no end in sight. blanket white. 

The beautiful city of Cheney Wa. county Spokane Wa. In the scenic, mountain terrain, of the Pacific Norhtwest. A trail for biking, hiking, camping, fishing, and outdoor adventure awaits any passer by…

Author: Lisa O'Day, Cries from an unkempt garden

I write to tell my story of how I overcame self affliction, and great despair in this life. For I write to share the death to self that took place. That I may Glorify God in all I do. May my writings be a refelction of freedom, for I am no longer in captivity of self. May they be warm, and inviting. For I write because God has given me words that drip from my mouth to be seen.

4 thoughts on “Blanket White…”

Leave a Reply

