From my minds eye

Word Prompt: Gray

I asked the dreaded question to the gal cutting, and coloring my hair. It was a such a “girly” question too. I bit down on my lip a little out of anxious curioisty waiting for her answer,”how gray am I, like can you give me a percentage of how gray my hair is”? You know the old saying, “curiosity killed the cat”. The vanity in the question, caught even me by surprise. I mean come on I was 40 something. What was I expecting her to say, “you have zero percent gray“. As one of my silver hairs caught the light, and tracked the line of my hair from root to end just that morning. That old song by, Carly Simon was looping my mind. You know it well, “You’re So Vain”. Okay yes I was so vain, and there was no probably this was about me! She looked at me, as her fingers ran about my head. Seperating pieces, finally “ummm I would say you are 18 percent gray. What the….you have got to me kidding me. 

When I looked in the mirror my minds eye saw all the years the locusts had ate away, and boy I saw gray. Gray in my hair, a whole slew of it. 18 percent gray who was she kidding, she was just being nice. Psh!

When I looked in the mirror my minds eye saw gray in the fine wrinkles around my eyes, oh yeah and those ones woman get just above the lip line. That if they wear there lipstick poorly, it bleeds into them making them all the more prounounced. 

When I looked in the mirror from my minds eye I saw gray in the weary traveler that was me. Standing there with my reflection, and the long gray journey my life had taken. My body had taken quite a punch. Can you imagine what a gal like me should reflect blowing a .24 at 108 pounds. That is 3 times the legal limit. This was a daily regemine for me too(quite the beauty guru ay). My liver was obviously gray, well probably black. 

From my minds eye I was all gray. There was no other color I resembled. From head to toe, from heart to soul, Gray. When I think of gray I think of pitiful. I was slathered in gray could I ever have a color? 

From my minds eye I saw gray as I had not learned sober yet. I was gray with chaotic indifferance. I was gray, my marriage was gray, my relationships with my children were gray. My pours were gray, and smelled as if death had found me. God to me at this time, was so gray. Did he even know my gray?

God did indeed know my gray. He viewed me nothing of what I did from my minds eye. In fact he was gracious to me, and he restored the years the locusts had ate away. Not to toot my own horn(well sorta) many a people have said I look great, and even young for the life I have lived. I do have a color, and actually many colors reside from head to toe, and heart to soul. 

With God I slayed the gray, and as a token of my obedience to Him I am made into a masterpiece of colors. Vibrant, colors only adding to my youthful 40 something self.

When I look into the mirror today from my minds eye,  gray…nah! Only when the color from my hair has faded, and I know it time to color it again. I am not going gray yet…

I am only 40 something come on…


Published by

Lisa Ralph, Cries from an unkempt garden

I write to tell my story of how I overcame self affliction, and great despair in this life. For I write to share the death to self that took place. That I may Glorify God in all I do. May my writings be a refelction of freedom, for I am no longer in captivity of self. May they be warm, and inviting. For I write because God has given me words that drip from my mouth to be seen.

Leave a Reply

