The good, and bad of AVID…daily prompts

Zealous would be an understatement when it came to me and alcohol. Like the Lay’s pototoe chip commercial, “betcha can’t eat just one”. Boy was that right with me and alcohol, you betcha I could not have just one. 1,2,3,4 sips, that lead to 4 bottles later, what were we talking about? Kidding! I was zealous, can’t say I was zealous about all things in life. Zealous is good right?

Devoted to my days with alcohol, as a loving wife is devoted to meeting the needs of her one and only. I gave it my all, for I was devoted“Hopelessly devoted to ____”? Devotion can only grow you right? 

Ambition took over, and I was stout about retrieving drunk. For what joy was there in sober. Ambition now that is great, it gets you far! Success is derived of ambition right?

Zealous, Devoted, Ambition, all makings of significant attributes of a leader or even more. What impeccable character I had, carrying these distinctions about.

All in all grand was the scope in my vision. But once I became too much of all of these I became, pushy, selfish, a mersonary, greed struck, and anything but successful.

For I was an AVID alcolohic. Try to raise to fame with that as your one trait.

Now let me do a 180, as I did. Let me be zealous, devoted, and show honorable ambition towards my Lord, now there is where I find a record long list of these awe-inspiring hallmarks within me.

Gallations 2:20

I have been crucified by with Christ and no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. 

I am now an AVID believer in the Lord, and he saved me from the treacherous bondage of alcohol. He gave me new life, and I am the greatest success story of all things good in AVID.

Word Prompt: Avid

Published by

Lisa Ralph, Cries from an unkempt garden

I write to tell my story of how I overcame self affliction, and great despair in this life. For I write to share the death to self that took place. That I may Glorify God in all I do. May my writings be a refelction of freedom, for I am no longer in captivity of self. May they be warm, and inviting. For I write because God has given me words that drip from my mouth to be seen.

One thought on “The good, and bad of AVID…daily prompts”

Leave a Reply

