Spike

 Word Prompt:Spike

The impaling of my heart as I realized I was drinking myself to death

The penetration so deep that no words could comfort my decay

The petrified outline of my body depicted for me to see as a crime scene investigation, headlines read “39 year old wife, and mother died of alcohol toxicity.”

The piercing reality that if I had a eulogy written it would say so little good, for I was just lost bones in a box another Jane Doe really

The pounding stab of my heart when I held onto my kid, and was made to say goodbye

The prickling pains that riddled my body from the inside out, as my life was turned upside down

The nails that pierced through Jesus’s hands, and feet as he took the bitter cup and drank of it. For all mankind to be saved from our sins, because he loved us

The girl who was lanced with grace that she lived it, and it now lived in her

Spiked were the waters reflections of the beauty that now resides within her. Spiked with the colors of the magnificient walk which was now her very own..
Author: Lisa O'Day, Cries from an unkempt garden

I write to tell my story of how I overcame self affliction, and great despair in this life. For I write to share the death to self that took place. That I may Glorify God in all I do. May my writings be a refelction of freedom, for I am no longer in captivity of self. May they be warm, and inviting. For I write because God has given me words that drip from my mouth to be seen.

Leave a Reply

